# FERMA Membership Business Meeting – Minutes Summer Conference Lido Beach Resort, Sarasota, FL July 22, 2011

**Opening:** The regular meeting of the FERMA General Membership Summer Conference was called to order on July 22, 2011 at 10:30am by Sandy Higginbotham, President.

Board Members Present: Tony Ganstine, Linda King, Glen Lathers, Michael Millett

Attendance also included the general membership of FERMA.

The meeting started with Sandy Higginbotham thanking everyone for attending.

## Dates for 66<sup>th</sup> Joint Annual Conference (FERMA, FSBA, FSBIT, FADSS, SUNSPRA, FELL, FSBAA

The awards presentation will be 5 to 7 minutes which will include:

- a video presentation showing the value of Risk Manager/Management to Districts, Boards, employees and all students
- scholarship recipients
- best practices Award Presentation (St. Johns County)
- six session topics

Linda King provided the general members with a video outline and discussed what the video will include. She asked for general member volunteers to participate in the interview portion of the video.

The dates of the conference will be posted on the FERMA website which is normally the end of November or the beginning of December. Sandy Higginbotham asked all to try to attend as the Board really appreciates their support.

## New Hotel Contract – Stay at Lido Beach?

Kim Limke, Lido Beach Resort Sales Manager has presented the Board a one year and a two year contract with 07/09/12 - 07/13/12 and 07/08/13 - 07/12/13 as suggested dates. After discussion a consensus was reached that the location will remain at the Lido Beach Resort, Sarasota, FL and to negotiate the 2 year contract. The Board is to begin working with the Lido Beach Resort management and report to the membership the dates for the 2012-2013 Summer Conferences.

## **Nomination Committee**

The Nomination Committee members are: Mark Langdorf, Ted Pafundi and David Ford

Nomination for the 2011-2012 Board included:

Sandy Higginbotham	Past President
Chauncey Fagler	President
Linda King	Vice President
Michael Millett	Treasurer
Tony Ganstine	Board Member
Kevin Windham	Board Member
Wendy Craig	Board Member

Motion made by Scott Clark, second by Ted Pafundi to accept the 2011-2012 Board nominations as presented above. Motion passed with unanimous approval.

## New FERMA Website Presentation

Patricia Howard provided a tutorial of the new FERMA website which included:

- FERMA Community Page
- Member password protection
- School District Profile Page
- Blog, Communication, Chat and Whiteboard abilities
- FERMA 2011
- User Guide will be posted on website

The general members commended Patricia Howard on the website and for all her hard work.

## Recommendations: Lifetime Achievement, etc.

There were no recommendations reported at this time.

## Voting Items:

Paper ballots were passed out to general members for voting purposes.

## IBC – Discussion & Vote (active FERMA members only)

Discussion consisted of:

- Should FERMA be part of the IBC Board
- If FERMA is on the IBC Board there would be financial responsibility
- Should FERMA only attend the IBC meetings and appoint a FERMA Board member as a Liaison who would report back to the Board and General Membership
- IBC has published meeting minutes

Paper Voting Ballot:

Yes – FERMA be part of the IBC Board

No – FERMA only attend the IBC meetings and appoint a FERMA Board member as a Liaison

Motion made by Ted Pafundi, second by Forrest Branscomb to the above paper voting ballot format. Motion passed with unanimous approval.

Majority voted to appoint a FERMA Board member as a FERMA Liaison who will attend the IBC meetings and report back to the Board and General Members.

## FERMA Mission & Goals Statement – Discussion & Vote (active FERMA members only)

Voting ballot results will be reported back to the general membership by way of the FERMA Website.

## By Law Changes – Nominating Committee – Discussion & Vote (active FERMA members only)

After discussion motion was made to change the wording of number one (1.) to:

Educational Membership shall be granted to those individuals employed in Florida public school systems, Florida Educational Trust, The Florida College System and universities including risk management consortia personnel who manage risk management functions, or any part thereof or any past FERMA President.

Motion made by Mark Langdorf, second by David Ford to revise number one (1.) wording to the above. Motion passed with unanimous approval.

Majority voted to accept the FERMA By-Law changes.

## Treasurer's Report

Michael Millett presented the FERMA July 22, 2011 Treasurer's Report. The report indicates positive results for the last 12 month period.

John Radcliffe indicated that additional receivables are forthcoming from various vendors and will only strengthen the ending balance and cash on hand for FERMA

Motion made by Forrest Branscomb, second by Carol Holtz to accept the July 22, 2011 Treasurer's Report as presented. Motion passed with unanimous approval

Michael Millett suggested FERMA increase next years' Vendor Fees. After discussion consensus was to change the vendor fees to:

- Non-Sponsor \$100 per attendee
- Bronze Sponsor 2 attendees at no charge additional \$100 each
- Silver Sponsor 3 attendees at no charge additional \$100 each
- Gold Sponsor 4 attendees at no charge additional \$100 each
- Platinum Sponsor unlimited attendees at no charge

Motion made by Dianne Howard, second by Richard Birt to increase vendor fees as stated above. Motion passes with unanimous approval.

## **Presidential Transition**

Vice President, Chauncey Fagler took office at the close of the annual summer meeting as required by the FERMA by-laws.

John Radcliffe thanked Sandy Higginbotham for the excellent job she has done and for her support as a Board Member and as a President.

## Adjournment:

Meeting was adjourned at approximately 12:30 pm by Sandy Higginbotham.

Submitted by Chauncey Fagler, President August 01, 2011